I Want Peace

Sometimes I run across a new posting that catches my eye enough to explore it further and then share it here. This one from Sister, I am with you  had me at  “..I also want Mexican food, but you know….”

It takes a decent sense of humor to survive through this strange ‘living-experience’ thing that we do, so Amy speaks for me here also. Give me Peace, …and Tacos!

***

“The older I get the more I realize I want one thing in my life more than anything else:

Peace.

Well, maybe two things because I also want Mexican food, but you know.

I want peace.

I want friendships that aren’t fragile. I want relationships that aren’t volatile. I want people in my life where the connection between us isn’t delicate—where it isn’t easily broken. Where you trust me and I trust you and things are talked out.

I want it all as comfortable as possible…like sweatpants that are worn in and cozy and allows room for growth and grace in the same way drawstrings work.

I don’t want bad with anyone. I don’t want bitterness, or anger, or awkwardness when we see each other. I can’t handle any of that “are we speaking? Are we not speaking? Are we friends? Are we cool face to face, but behind my back you’re spitting fire and bringing my name down?”

I’m full. Motherhood is a mental workout all day, every day. Adulthood in general is pretty stressful. Bills and work and deadlines and all of that business.

I don’t want any drama. Not now. Not tomorrow. Not even in tiny doses. None. If you throw it my way, I hate to disappoint you, but I will not even attempt to catch it.

I don’t want chaos, or turmoil, or any of that. I don’t want gossip. I don’t want to hear secrets that may or may not even be true. I mean…I’ll keep your secrets for sure, but I’m just going to extend compassion and assume everybody is doing the best they possibly can.

And I’m good on the tea. I don’t need any. I prefer that fizzy, flavored water stuff anyway. Maybe a Diet Dr. Pepper.

I want peace.

And I’ve learned that sometimes it’s not really about keeping the peace. It’s about creating peace.

It’s about confronting things head-on. It’s about asking good questions. It’s about listening. It’s about keeping my ridiculous knee-jerk reactions to myself. It’s about refusing to brush the difficult stuff under the rug and pretend it doesn’t exist until that rug becomes a mountain in-between me and my friend. It’s about talking things out and approaching every situation with kindness first.

It’s about apologizing.

It’s about maturity.

It’s about boundaries and knowing that even when I give my best, not everyone will appreciate it, want it, or like it.

It’s about loving them and letting them go from there.

I know I’m a mess sometimes and I’m insecure and prideful and I make so many mistakes. I’m

So imperfect. I just…

I dunno.

I want peace.

I want it to ooze out of me. I want it in me. I want it on me. I want it around me. I want it to come through me.

No matter what anyone else is doing.

I want peace.

And tacos and stuff, obviously.

Love,

Amy”

Sister, I am with you. 

Published by Rebecca A. Holdorf

Rebecca A. Holdorf has a Masters in English, and is a certified hypnotist specializing in Past-Life Exploration and Spirit World Exploration. She is also a Usui and Karuna REIKI Master Teacher presently located near Davenport, Iowa. Author of five books, she also conducts workshops and training in Self-empowerment, True-self Actualization and REIKI. Her company is Foundations of Light, LLC, web address is http://www.lightfoundations.com . Contact her at reiki@lightfoundations.com .

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started