Wishing You Peace

This is the time of year when we gather with family and friends for good food, fellowship, and joy.

At least that’s the intention of the year-end holiday season, but not everyone is so blessed right now. And while I do wish everyone an abundance of food, love, peace and joviality, I also know that world-wide many are experiencing terrible hardships and horrendous living conditions.

For those of you who are struggling, I wish you courage and stamina to find a way to survive the current horrors of your life. There will be much death and destruction before the fighting ceases in many locations.  Unfortunately that is as much a part of the human experience now as is showing kindness and compassion to those around us.

Seeing this bunny image took me back 30+ years to our 100 acres in the Ozark Hills of Missouri where my dad, my husband and I lived for almost a decade after my mom died. There were cedar trees coming up wherever they were allowed to grow as most ranchers in the area considered them scrub brush and taking up valuable cow grazing land; so they were often cut down to keep a pasture clear. But we usually let some of ours grow and then cut one at Christmas time to put in the house. Very fragrant those cedar trees—very prickly also; but when it snowed during the winter there, the scenery in southwest Missouri looked a lot like that image above, and the smaller animals would scamper about looking for food and shelter beneath those cedars.

It was always such a peaceful time after the first snow with the land covered in a soft, cold blanket of white fluff. It’s easy to forget the more difficult times of your life when you are immersed in the beauty of such pristine whiteness.

Here in the NOW where I currently live back in Iowa, our first measurable snow was last week, and for a time, when those first huge flakes began to gently drift to the ground, it was just beautiful, and the moment felt almost sacred—so I stood in awe for some time watching the picture-perfect scene outside my window and thought about times long past, noting how each era of our lives brings great joys to mind as well as great sorrows.

Yesterday I put flowers on the graves of my grandmother and my parents. My ex-husband has also passed but is not buried in my vicinity or I would honor him as well. Those we have loved moved on from this plane of existence to the next, or in one sense it can be said they have returned HOME from where we all originated. While I may feel great loss for their passing, I know their journey continues elsewhere and mine is still here until my earthly work is done whenever that might be, so I’m not sad in that respect.

It is simply LIFE. This is what we do until we in turn pass on to other endeavors beyond this plane.

Whatever your situation, just enjoy the holiday season as best you can with camaraderie, joviality, and good intentions toward all. Share your abundance with others when possible, and please wish the best for ALL of us everywhere—lord knows, we ALL need your best wishes about now.

Be grateful for what you DO still have and for those who are currently in your company. And let’s try to be a little nicer to everyone we meet from here on out because you never know who might be  standing right in front of you, disguised as a stranger.  

Peace and love!

Published by Rebecca A. Holdorf

Rebecca A. Holdorf has a Masters in English, and is a certified hypnotist specializing in Past-Life Exploration and Spirit World Exploration. She is also a Usui and Karuna REIKI Master Teacher presently located near Davenport, Iowa. Author of five books, she also conducts workshops and training in Self-empowerment, True-self Actualization and REIKI. Her company is Foundations of Light, LLC, web address is http://www.lightfoundations.com . Contact her at reiki@lightfoundations.com .

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started